Whatsapp introduces “view once” that auto-deletes photos and Videos

Whatsapp is rolling out a new feature called “view once” which will enable users to send videos and images that will be automatically deleted after they have been viewed once by the intended audience.

After being viewed by the receiver, the media will then show up as opened.

According to the firm, this feature is aimed at “giving users even more control over their privacy”.

The Facebook-owned firm won’t allow users to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with the “View Once” featured. The company says that if you don’t open the media within 14 days of it being sent, it will expire from the chat. However, one will be able to restore the it from backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.

The messaging app users are have also warned that recipients can still take screenshots or screen record while opening the view once photo or video and senders won’t be notified.

PD Admin

Staff writer, The Postdale Daily

Latest from Tech